FAQs

This section includes FAQ, Burbank Ammo and Guns information (hours, price match and fees)  and Helpful Links

Who is prohibited from purchasing or possessing firearms in California?
What are the age requirements to legally purchase a firearm in California?
What is the waiting period for firearm purchases in California?
What is DROS, and what is the DROS process?
Is there a background check?
What are the additional requirements, which must be met before purchasing a firearm?
What is a Safe Handling Skills Demonstration?
Are there any restrictions as to firearms which can be legally purchased in California?
Does California limit the number of firearms that an individual can purchase? 
What is a Private Party Transfer?
Do I have to buy a gunlock or trigger lock with the purchase of my gun?
How does the expiration of the Federal Assault Weapons Ban affect California Gun Owners?

Hours and fees
Helpful Links

FIREARM FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Who is prohibited from purchasing or possessing firearms in California?
Anyone under indictment for a felony, convicted of a felony or certain misdemeanors.
Anyone deemed a fugitive from justice.
Anyone adjudicated to be mentally defective or committed to a mental institution.
Anyone who is subject to a restraining order.
Anyone dishonorably discharged from the US Armed Forces.
Anyone who has renounced their US citizenship.
Anyone who has illegally entered the US and/or is an illegal resident.
Anyone who is addicted to, or an unlawful user of controlled substances.

What are the age requirements to legally purchase a firearm in California?
21 years of age for rifles or shotguns.
21 years of age for handguns, rifle receivers, and pistol gripped shotguns.

What is the waiting period for firearm purchases in California?
10 days, calculated as ten, consecutive, 24-hour periods commencing at the initiation of the DROS process. Certain qualified persons such as law enforcement officers, may be exempt from the 10 days waiting period.

What is DROS, and what is the DROS process?
DROS stands for Dealer Record of Sale.   It is the system used by the California Dept. of Justice wherein background checks are conducted for purchasers of firearms. It is also the method by which firearm sales registration information is obtained.

Is there a background check?
DROS paperwork submitted to the California DOJ is used to perform a criminal background check during the mandatory 10 day waiting period.  

What are the additional requirements, which must be met before purchasing a firearm?
Valid current proof of Residency (Handguns only).
Valid current California Drivers License or California state-issued ID
If you are not a US Citizen, valid current government-issued proof of legal residency will be required.
Possession of a valid current Firearm Safety Certificate or Handgun Safety Certificate, or documentation proving exemption from the Firearms Safety Certificate requirement.
Safe Handling Skills demonstration (see blow)

What is a Safe Handling Skills Demonstration?
This demonstration includes the proven ability to perform a set of skills, that must be performed by the purchaser, with the gun they are purchasing or with a gun of the same model as the one that is being purchased. These skills include checking that the handgun is empty, unlocking it, loading it with a dummy round, unloading it and relocking it. This demonstration is performed at the time of DROS.  Prospective purchasers will be required to sign an Affidavit, swearing that they have the necessary knowledge of safe handling of the firearm being purchased.

Are there any restrictions as to firearms which can be legally purchased in California?
California has strict firearm laws that limit what can be purchased legally.  Visit the links below to determine if a specific firearm is legally allowed for purchase in California.

HANDGUNS – http://www.calguns.net/caawid/hgflowchart.pdf
RIFLES – http://www.calguns.net/caawid/flowchart.pdf
SHOTGUNS – http://www.calguns.net/caawid/sgflowchart.pdf
CALIFORNIA DOJ HANDGUN ROSTER – http://certguns.doj.ca.gov/

Does California limit the number of firearms that an individual can purchase? 
California law limits the purchase of handguns to no more than one handgun purchased or transferred from a dealer to an individual within any 30 day period.  Private Party Transfers are exempt from this restriction.  California law does not currently limit the number of rifles or shotguns purchased by an individual within a specific time period.

What is a Private Party Transfer?
A Private Party Transfer (PPT) occurs when a California resident sells his privately owned firearm to another California resident.  Both parties are required to go to a firearms dealer, present the required documentation, and fill out paperwork.  The dealer will then take custody of the firearm for the mandatory waiting period.  The buyer will then return to the dealer after the mandatory waiting period is over and takes possession of the.  Buying a firearm from a private individual outside of California does not qualify as a Private Party Transfer.  Private Party Transfers are not bound by the State of California Approved Handgun Roster.

Do I have to buy a gunlock or trigger lock with the purchase of my gun?
State law requires the purchase of a gun or trigger lock, unless the buyer shows proof of ownership of a DOJ approved safe or lockbox, or if the gun you are purchasing already comes with a gun or trigger lock, which appears on the DOJ approved list. If the firearm recipient claims an exception to the FSD (Firearms Safety Device) requirement due to ownership of a DOJ-approved lock box, a receipt for the DOJ-approved lock box will be required in all circumstances.

How does the expiration of the Federal Assault Weapons Ban affect California Gun Owners?
California law, supersedes Federal law, and as such, the expiration of the Federal Assault Weapons Ban does not affect the restrictions on the sale or possession of designated “assault weapons” in the state of California.

BURBANK AMMO AND GUNS FAQ

HOURS:
Monday through Friday, 11am – 7pm
Saturday 10am – 5pm

Sunday Closed

We begin our last firearms sales of the day 20 minutes prior to closing.

PRICE MATCH:
Applies to locally advertised price of firearms, at local dealers.

FEES:

DROS: $37.19  This is a mandatory California DOJ DROS fee.
https://oag.ca.gov/firearms/dlrfaqs

OUT OF STATE TRANSFER FEE: $115.00 for the first gun.  $75.00 for each additional gun. 

IN-STATE PRIVATE PARTY TRANSFER:  DROS $37.19 plus $10.00

Call To Confirm Stock On Hand!

HELPFUL LINKS

California DOJ handgun roster:
http://certguns.doj.ca.gov/

Personal Firearms Eligibility Check Program:
https://oag.ca.gov/firearms/pfecfaqs

California DOJ FAQ:
https://oag.ca.gov/firearms/faqs

California DROS FAQ:
https://oag.ca.gov/firearms/dlrfaqs

Firearm Safety Card FAQ
https://oag.ca.gov/firearms/fscpfaqs

ATF (US Government) FAQ:
https://www.atf.gov/questions-and-answers/firearms-qas

%d bloggers like this: